Culture or nature?

Our traditional house, the „Hotel am Elbstrand – Elbparadies“ is located in Posta, a small place belonging to Pirna. Even though it is situated in a quiet area - at a minor road mainly used as a cycle track - you can easily reach the old part of Pirna on foot.

If you want to do this reconnaissance expedition, you best take the ferry boat to cross the river Elbe, and within just a few minutes you will enjoy the magnificent view of the old part of town which was already captured by the famous painter Canaletto 200 years ago.

keyboard_arrow_down

Pirna - the gateway to Saxon Switzerland

Pirna is also the starting point to places such as:

  • Schloss Pillnitz and Dresden, the capital of Saxony
  • Kurort Rathen (Spa Rathen) with its open-air theatre
  • the Bastei massif with its famous bridge and the breathtaking view at Saxon Switzerland,
  • an area southeast of Dresden well-known for its unusual rock formations, the romantic location "the Schrammsteine" - an impressive chain of rock massifs, the Falkenstein and Bielatal
  • Weesenstein, a medieval castle and the baroque garden of Großsedlitz
  • Meissen with its famous porcelain..
keyboard_arrow_down

Saxon Switzerland

was given its name about 200 years ago, when the area attracted the attention of artists living in Dresden.

Geologically seen the area consists of a sandstone plate originating in the Cretaceous period which has been eroded by running water and pressure on tectonic plates throughout the history of the earth. That is why experts call the Elbsandsteingebirge (Elbe Sandstone Mountains) a landscape of erosion.

Today's result of this weathering is a landscape characterized by mesas such as Lilien-, Pfaffen- and Königstein, rock massifs like the Schramsteine, narrow valleys and gorges.

This variety of landscape aroused and arouses the interest of artists, nature lovers, hikers and climbers. The latter can use more than one thousand peaks to practise the typically Saxon climbing style.That is why this region is recognised as a climbing area all over the world.

keyboard_arrow_down

Dresden

...about 15 km downstream from Pirna, is the cultural highlight of any holiday in Pirna and the surrounding area.

Admire the Baroque buildings and art treasures of the over 800-year-old city, visit the Semper opera or one of the numerous cultural events and enjoy a cup of coffee in the beautiful old town of Dresden or on the Brühlischer Terrase.

keyboard_arrow_down

And the locomotion?

If you are planning to go on a day trip in the Elbe valley you can use means of public transport going by bus, train or boat, alternatively you can ride the bike or simply walk.

>Hire a bike with us to explore the immediate environs. Or get on one of the historic steamboats cruising the Elbe. By the way Dresden's fleet of paddle steamers is the world's oldest.

Or you might enjoy a theatre performance in a unique atmosphere at Felsenbühne Rathen, a natural outdoor theatre. We are prepared to see to the tickets for such a unique event, to offer you advice or compile individual tours for you. We want you to feel completely comfortable and would be pleased if your stay with us and in the region of Saxon Switzerland was an enjoyable and unforgettable one.

Kultur oder Natur?

Unser traditionsreiches Haus, das „Hotel am Elbstrand – Elbparadies“, liegt im Pirnaer Ortsteil Posta. Ruhig – an einer die Elbe entlangführenden schmalen Straße, die vorwiegend als Radweg genutzt wird – gelegen, ist die Altstadt bequem zu Fuß zu erreichen.

Begibt man sich auf diese Erkundungstour, nutzt man am besten die nächste Elbfähre, um dann in wenigen Minuten die schon vor über 200 Jahren durch den Maler Canaletto festgehaltenen Blicke auf die Altstadt zu genießen.

keyboard_arrow_down

Pirna - Das Tor zur Sächsischen Schweiz

Pirna ist auch der Ausgangspunkt zur Erkundung bekannter Ziele wie:

  • Schloss Pillnitz und die Residenzstadt Dresden
  • Kurort Rathen mit seiner Freilichtbühne
  • Die Bastei mit ihrer berühmten Brücke und der wundervollen Aussicht auf die Sächsische Schweiz
  • Die romantischen Felsengruppen der Schrammsteinkette und des Falkensteins, sowie des Bielatals
  • Schloss Weesenstein und der Barockgarten Großsedlitz
  • Meissen mit seinem berühmten Porzellan...
keyboard_arrow_down

Die Sächsische Schweiz

...kam vor ungefähr 200 Jahren, als das Gebiet vor allem das Interesse in Dresden lebender Künstler weckte, zu ihrem Namen.

Geologisch gesehen besteht die Region aus einer in der Kreidezeit entstandenen Sandsteinplatte die im Laufe der Erdzeiten vor allem durch Plattenpressung und durch das fließende Wasser abgetragen wurde. Deshalb spricht man auch von der Erosionslandschaft des Elbsandsteingebirges.

Als heutiges Ergebnis dieses Verwitterungsprozesses ist eine Landschaft entstanden, die durch die Tafelberge wie Lilien-, Pfaffen- und Königstein, durch Felsenketten wie die Schrammsteine und durch enge Täler und Schluchten geprägt ist.

Durch diese reiche Naturausstattung weckte und weckt noch heute diese Landschaft das Interesse der Künstler, der Naturfreunde und der Wanderer und Bergsteiger. Letztere können den typischen sächsischen Kletterstil an über 1000 Gipfeln ausüben, was unsere Region in den Rang eines weltweit beachteten Klettergebietes erhebt.

keyboard_arrow_down

Dresden

...ca. 15 km flussabwärts von Pirna gelegen, ist ein kultureller Höhepunkt eines jeden Urlaubs in Pirna und Umgebung.

Bestaunen Sie die barocken Bauten und Kunstschätze der über 800 Jahre alten Stadt, besuchen Sie die Semper-Oper oder eines der zahlreichen Kulturereignisse und genießen Sie eine Tasse Kaffee in unserer schönen Altstadt Dresden oder auf der Brühlischen Terrase Dresden.

keyboard_arrow_down

Und die Fortbewegung?

Für viele Tagestouren im Elbtal gibt es für die Fortbewegung vielfältige Kombinationsmöglichkeiten zwischen dem öffentlichen Bus, der Eisenbahn, der Elbschifffahrt, dem Fahrrad und den eigenen Füßen.

Leihen Sie sich einfach ein Fahrrad aus, um die Umgebung zu erkunden. Oder machen Sie eine Fahrt mit der historischen Dampfschifffahrt auf der Elbe, übrigens die älteste der Welt, oder vielleicht ein Theaterbesuch in der einzigartigen Atmosphäre der "Felsenbühne Rathen". Erkunden Sie den Malerweg und erleben Sie die einzigartige Natur des Elbsandsteingebirges.

Wir kümmern uns gern um Ihre Karten für solch ein unvergessliches Erlebnis, geben Ihnen auch gern Tips und stellen Ihnen bei Wunsch eine individuelle Ausflugsroute zusammen, sodass Sie sich rundum wohlfülen können, und Ihnen der Aufenthalt bei uns und in der Region, der "Sächsichen Schweiz", gern im Gedächtnis bleibt.